State of the US Car Industry

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:27
ThreadID: 64025 Views:2211 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
Will it happen here????

On ABC TV Midday Report today:

700 car dealerships in the US have closed down. It is expected to reach 900 by year's end (one month).

One dealer is offering Dodge Rams at:

Buy 1 get 1 Free.

Crazy but true.

Reply By: Krakka - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:53

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:53
Already happening here, Holden dealership closed in Melb. Holden wont take them back so they are going to auction.
Krakka
AnswerID: 338234

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:55

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:55
I read about that somewhere.

Is that the auction where the cars do not have a reserve price?

FollowupID: 605754

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:38

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:38
Yeah the Ford dealership at Kempsey NSW has closed down as well.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 605763

Follow Up By: Krakka - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 17:12

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 17:12
Yeah thats the one Steven, have heard they could go for as low as 10K, sounds a bit low to me, even for a "dunny door"

P.S. A mate at work was very impressed with your cruiser, asked me if it was a sleeper cab on the tray. Showed him your rig pics.
Liked it very much.
FollowupID: 605777

Reply By: SPRINT-GTO - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:59

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 14:59
Check out the Pickles website for details of the new Holdens to be auctioned,although Ithink you may be too late.
AnswerID: 338236

Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:10

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:10
The differences bewteen the US economy and ours are immense.

Without delivering a boring economics lecture the answer is NO.

We will in no doubt see some tough times, and yes some people will go broke, but not anything like what will happen in the US.

Two bob media comomentators running around telling us the sky is about to fall in are not helping.

AnswerID: 338237

Follow Up By: ob - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 17:32

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 17:32
Yeah, spot on Jim. Sure our economy is going to take a downturn but it becomes a self fullfilling prophecy if the media yell loudly enough that the end is nigh.
Cheers ob
FollowupID: 605780

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:19

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:19
most of the major credit co's who provided the dealers with finance have pulled out of Oz...so its just a matter of time i'd say...
but holden is still saying that they are ok...what ever that means
AnswerID: 338238

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:46

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 15:46
It's more than the car dealers in the US, the whole industry looks like going under. Very interesting article on the ABC last week on the plea for a bail out of the industry. The unions have destroyed their own industry by demanding and securing some of the most incredible conditions imaginable. Great in good times but they are not prepared to relinquish anything to assist in maintaining their own industry. Worth a look if you want to understand the true nature of the industry and why the US vehicle market is about to go under.

Mick

AnswerID: 338244

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 17:28

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 17:28
Mick,

When I was at Uni one of my assignments was to write a paper on the Collective Bargaining System in The USA.

The Yanks have a far less regulated labour market than we do. What essentially happens is that in good times the unions hold the whip hand and wring the employers for everything they can. Then in lean times the employers screw the workers to death.

It is a system that encourages peaks and troughs which impact on their economy. Our system, being far more regulated, tends to give us a more balanced economy, which in my opinion is a good thing. The fact that we are riding this out far better than almost any other developed country reflects this.

FollowupID: 605778

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 16:28

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 16:28
Following news story out this afternoon…….

News Story

16:21 04Dec08 AAP-Vehicle sales plunge as global crisis hits the local market
By Tim Dornin

ADELAIDE, Dec 4 AAP - Vehicle sales in Australia have slumped with the global economic downturn taking a heavy toll on the auto sector.

The Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries (FCAI) said on Thursday 71,617 new cars and trucks were retailed in November, a plunge of 20,464 or 22.2 percent on the 92,081 sold in the same month last year.

The FCAI said the November result left the year-to-date market down by 2.9 percent compared to the same period in 2007.

But it said sales for the full year were still expected to top one million and give the industry its second best year on record.

It tipped total sales to reach about 1,019,000, below the record 1,049,982retailed last year.

FCAI chief executive Andrew McKellar said the November market reflected a further softening of economic conditions after demand fell by more than 11 percent in October.

"It is clear that people are being more cautious with their money as the magnitude of the global financial crisis deepens," Mr McKellar said.

"Certainly the most recent interest rate cut was well justified and it is hoped this will help restore some confidence and stability to the marketplace.

"On the upside, there are going to be some very competitive opportunities for anyone considering buying a car in the near future."
Toyota was the top selling company last month with 17,473 vehicles, ahead ofHolden on 9,719 and Ford on 7,233.

Toyota also led the market overall to the end of November with 219,984 vehicles, compared to 119,490 for Holden and 97,216 for Ford.

The company's senior executive director of sales and marketing, David Buttner, said Toyota was optimistic that recent developments, including the interest rate cut, would help lift confidence among private and business consumers.

"Interest rates are coming down fast and experts such as the OECD are predicting Australia's economy will continue to grow, avoiding a recession," Mr Buttner said.
"There is plenty of new-vehicle stock, which is fuelling extremely attractive deals across the country.
"While that means great buying right now, we also know that recommended retail prices on many imported vehicles are set to increase in the new year."

Holden had the top selling car in November, the company retailing 4,365Commodores to head off the Toyota Corolla on 3,486 and the Ford Falcon on2,555.

Other top selling models were the Mazda 3 (2,343), Toyota Yaris (2,153), Toyota HiLux 4x4 (2,075), Mitsubishi Lancer (1,922), Toyota Camry (1,820), Hyundai Getz(1,501) and the Toyota Aurion (1,481).

AnswerID: 338257

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 18:38

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 18:38
I guess the main point to consider is if they are actually making any money out of each sale.
Rolling stock with no margin will catch you sooner rather than later.

FollowupID: 605790

Reply By: Krakka - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 17:18

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 17:18
Have heard that Toyota in Melbourne are going to reduce they're build rate by about 120 vehicles a day next year and have already pulled 7 production days out of the first 1/4 next year. So you can bury your head in the sand if you think we are not going down the same path as the auto industry in the USA if you like.
But these are facts.
Krakka
AnswerID: 338270

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 17:54

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 17:54
G'day Krakka,

I've also heard that Toyota will be implementing large price rises in January.

The Aussie dollar is forecast to go down as far as US47c next year so price rises are inevitable.

Get your 200 series now, eh?

ps tell your mate that as soon as the price of the 70 series goes thru the roof I'll adjust the price of mine accordingly and he can have it at probably more than I paid for it... nah only joking, I like it too.

Although I can remember the mid to late 80's, that's exactly what happened.

FollowupID: 605783

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 08:45

Friday, Dec 05, 2008 at 08:45
Gone Bush
My info this morning from the US is that all currencies will devalue and gold will inflate taking assets back up with it.
This will wipe bad debts from the books but will also see the decline of the US dollar as the major currency.

With gold returning as the real money value resources will rise with the continuing expansion of Asian emerging countires so up comes Australia, Brazil and Canada.
FollowupID: 605869

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 18:24

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 18:24
The US has a very over serviced dealership network which has always been difficult to support, even in good times.

Some US manufactures (Dodge, Ford etc) have 7000 plus dealers as opposed to 1500 Toyota Dealers in the US alone.
Its pretty clear that Toyota are showing why they are the biggest seller in the world and can continue to make money as opposed to the cut backs being seen in other companies.

I had a conversation with a senior banker who said that the banks were taking the view that manufactures will be offering interest free terms in 2009 just to support some sort of turnover.
Will be interesting to see if this happens and how they will get and support the finance for this sort of offer.

Interesting times me thinks!!

AnswerID: 338279

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 22:50

Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 22:50
I am waiting for two troopy's for the price of one and interest free finance as well plus all accesories for nothing....fingers crossed
FollowupID: 605846